Lent 2014 – Day 17: Axion Estin

Tomorrow (25 March) we celebrate the feast of Annunciation, the Patron Saint of our parish church in Ramallah, Palestine.

On that occasion I would like to share with you this recording that I digitized from a tape that I’ve had in my collection for well over twenty years. The tape is of Fr. Amid Maaz chanting and playing the Oud. I really enjoy how sweet Fr. Amid makes this chant sound.

I recall listing to this Axion by Vassilicos or other famous Greek chanter, but I can’t seem to find it again. Any help in identifying this specific Axion and its original composer is really appreciated!

 

 
It is truly right to bless thee, O Theotokos,
thou the ever blessed, and most pure, and the Mother of our God.
Thou the more honorable than the cherubim,
and beyond compare more glorious than the seraphim,
who without corruption gavest birth to God the Word,
thou the true Theotokos, we magnify thee.

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

