Lent 2014 – Day 06: A special salute to chanting women around the world

Today the world celebrates International Women Day, and on this special day I would like to salute all women in our churches. Nuns, and other women who dedicated their lives to the service of the church and Christ deserve our utmost respect.

Furthermore, I would like to salute all women who chant in church and are dedicated to learning byzantine music and preserving the holy legacy of our church.

Today’s album/chant comes from Annunciation Convent in Aleppo with triodion troparia that accompany us throughout the Lent.

Open to me the gates of repentance, O Giver of Life,
For my spirit rises early to pray towards thy holy temple.
Bearing the temple of my body all defiled;
But in Thy compassion, purify me by the loving kindness of Thy mercy.

Lead me on the paths of salvation, O Mother of God,
For I have profaned my soul with shameful sins,
and have wasted my life in laziness.
But by your intercessions, deliver me from all impurity.

When I think of the many evil things I have done, wretch that I am,
I tremble at the fearful day of judgement.
But trusting in Thy living kindness, like David I cry to Thee:
Have mercy on me, O God, according to Thy great mercy.

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

