Lent 2014 – Day 04: Double Celebration

Today is a double celebration for our blog for a number of reasons:

  • That is the title of the album I randomly selected by Fr. Joseph Paliouras and the London based School of Byzantine Music Choir of the Archdioceses of Thyateira & Great Britain
  • The album contains parts of the services of the Annunciation Feast which is coming up soon and is the patron saint of our church in Ramallah, Palestine
  • Today is Friday and we don’t have work which means I can write two blog entries and catch up on my blogging
  • Today is the first Akathist Friday of this lent which makes my next blog entry topic much easier to select 🙂

The track I selected is the Kirie Ekekraxa (LORD, I Have Cried Out) in the 6th tone from the vespers service on the Annunciation feast:

LORD, I Have Cried Out

LORD, I Have Cried Out Unto You: hear me! Hear me, O Lord!
Lord, I Have Cried Out Unto You: hear me! Receive the voice of my prayer!
When I call upon You, hear me, O Lord!
Let my prayer arise in Your sight as incense,
And let the lifting up of my hands be an evening sacrifice.
Hear me, O Lord!

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

