A young warm voice from Greece

A couple of years ago I was talking with a Greek friend about my passion for Byzantine Chanting and when he asked me about Greek chanters I knew I mentioned the big names like Vassilikos and Angelopolous. He told me to look-up Petros Gaitanos. I’m real glad I took his advice! Gaitanos, a Greek singer and chanter has a sweet angelic voice that is so youthful and sweet, listen for yourself:

About Gaitanos:

Petros+Gaitanos+3417921078_c85885a657

“Petros Gaitanos was born in Drama, Greece. After many years of musical studies he was awarded his diploma in Byzantine and European Music from The Hellenic Conservatory in Athens, having as a teacher Mr. Manolis Chatzimarkos. He has been an artistic director of the Karipeion Melathron Institute.

It is worth mentioning that an important axis of his interpretative evolution is his successful – as it has been proved – creative occupation with Byzantine music. He is one of the few Greek singers who transfer the memories of tradition to the newer generations.” Source for bio and photo:

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

