Holy Week 2013: Let the master be like the servant!

One of the beautiful things about chanting the Holy Week services is that you get to chant in all 8 tones and in most of their variations. Today’s chant is from tonight’s service and in the Plagal to the first tone (5th tone).

The one thing we could learn from tonight’s service is how to humble ourselves and live our life in simplicity. This may sound too easy, but with all the distractions of life and the challenges we face daily this is quite the challenge!
 
Chant by Archmandrit Agapios Abu Saada:
 

 

Chant text:
Mode pl. 1.
Initiating Your disciples, O Lord, You instructed them, saying, “O my friends, see that no fear separates you from Me.
Although I suffer, yet I do so for the sake of the world. So do not fall away because of Me; for I came not to be served but to
serve, and to give My life as a ransom for the world. So, if you are My friends, imitate Me. Whoever would be first, let him be last;
let the master be like the servant. Abide in me, so that you may bear fruit; for I am the Vine of life.”

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

