Lent 2013 Day 37: Every year in Taybeh

Yesterday, and like every year, I was happy to join my friends in Taybeh in celebrating the feast of St. George the patron of the city and its churches.

This year, since the feast is in the midst of Lent, it feels like we are celebrating this feast in preparation for the Holy Week. It reminds us of how Jesus with his disciples went to Taybeh after Lazarus’s resurrection and from there Jesus went to the mountains to pray.

Here are some photos I took a couple of years ago of the ancient St. George 5th century church in Taybeh: I encourage you to visit Taybeh whenever you come to Palestine!

Following is a song of commend to St. George in the Plagal to the First (5th Tone) by the St. Romanos the Melodist Choir of the St. George Monastery in Hamera, Syria:

Sorry I couldn’t locate a translation for this chant. I will post it if I find in the future, or if you have it please add it below!

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

