Lent 2013 Day 26: Remembering to Pray

No matter how many times I looked for it in my pocket or around the house and couldn’t find it, soon it shows up again. If you haven’t guessed it yet, its my prayer rope. In the last few years I got into the habit of carrying it with me at all times. I feel it helps me think of prayer at all time, even if for a few seconds while I’m in the middle of work. It is a wonderful part of our traditions and I wish more people would use it.

For those who are not familiar with the prayer rope, or do not know how to pray with it, you can repeat the Jesus Prayer at every knot of the rope:

“Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, the sinner.”

for Arabic readers, this is the translation I like the most:

يا يسوع المسيح، يا ابن الله الحي. ارحمني أنا عبدك الخاطئ وخلصني

As for today’s selection, it is a bible reading chanted by Fr. Amid Al Maaz:

Mathew 5

42 Give to him that asketh thee, and from him that would borrow of thee turn not thou away.

43 Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy.

44 But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;

45 That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.

46 For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye? do not even the publicans the same?

47 And if ye salute your brethren only, what do ye more than others? do not even the publicans so?

48 Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.

 

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

