Lent 2013 Day 15: At the flip of a coin :)

Today’s selection is totally random, but never the less beautiful, I wanted to pick something quick in order to catch up as I couldn’t write yesterday blog entry, but I ended up doing a full entry. I couldn’t just let it go without talking about our Archon Protopsaltis. God bless you Bachir and wish to hear more of your accomplishments. I ask you to think how you will extend your work to every Parish in our church.

The chants are by the School of Saint Stephanos The Melode for ecclesiastical music lead by the Archon Protopsaltis of the Holy See of Antioch Bachir Osta. ( I think this recording is before the actual establishment of the school and appointment of Bachir, but I think it is the same core group )

The chants are from the CANON OF PREPARATION for Holy Communion 3rd Ode:

Eirmos: By establishing me on the rock of faith, Thou hast given me power over my enemies, and my spirit rejoices when I sing: There is none holy as our God, and none good but Thee, O Lord.

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

Troparia:
Grant me, O Christ, teardrops to cleanse the dross from my heart, that, purified and with a good conscience, I may come with fear and faith, O Lord, to the communion Thy divine gifts.

Cast me not away from Thy Face, and take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.May Thy immaculate Body and divine Blood be for the forgiveness of my transgressions, for communion with the Holy Spirit and for Eternal Life, O Lover of men,
and for estrangement from passions and sorrows.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever, and to the ages of ages. Amen.

O all-holy Lady, Altar of the Bread of Life, which for mercy’s sake came down from on high and gave new life to the world, make even me, who am unworthy, worthy now with fear to eat it and live.

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

