Lent 2013 Day 7: My favorite byzantine female chanter

My favorite female chanter Marilyn Accaoui Leignel chanting a piece from the Great Canon of St. Andrew. (For Arabic readers, you can find an article by Arch. Meletious Basal on the Great Canon on page 2 of this magazine).

Please do lookup Marilyn on YouTube and I’m sure will fall in love with her voice.

Chant Lyrics:

Kontakion, tone 6:
My soul, my soul, arise! Why are you sleeping? The end is drawing near, and you will be confounded. Awake, then, and be watchful, that Christ our God may spare you, Who is everywhere present and fills all things.

— Jack Rabah

2 thoughts on “Lent 2013 Day 7: My favorite byzantine female chanter

  1. Cool website! I love Arabic chant. I find it hauntingly beautiful! I attend an Antiochian church in the US, but it’s not an Arab parish and the services are in English. While we have a wonderful choir and chanters, we are definitely missing this old-world type of beauty. I would love to learn Byzantine chant, particularly in Arabic!

Leave a Reply

